Live Music

For ticketed events, SEE HERE

Friday 27 November 2020 19:00

The Vs; one of the very best punk bands in the Northeast.

TICKETED

Sunday 22 November 2020 18:00

West Coast acoustic.

Saturday 21 November 2020 19:00

The Nutopians.

TICKETED

Friday 20 November 2020 19:00

Taylor Payne.

Sunday 15 November 2020 18:00

Tony Bengtsson; this guy is something special. Acoustic, great original material. Don’t miss him!

Saturday 14 November 2020 19:00

Own Your Stage presents.

Friday 13 November 2020 19:00

Jonny Boyle (guitarist with Bessie & the Zinc Buckets).

Thursday 12 November 2020 18:30

Own Your Stage showcase.

Sunday 8 November 2020 18:00

Punk disco

Saturday 7 November 2020 19:00

Own Your Stage presents.

Friday 6 November 2020 19:00

Dave Red.

Sunday 1 November 2020 18:00

Ana Munoz and Ewan Clementson – the Ana Munoz duo.

Saturday 31 October 2020 19:00

Pat McMahon.

Friday 30 October 2020 19:00

Taylor Payne.

Sunday 25 October 2020 18:00

Tom Atkinson.

Saturday 24 October 2020 19:00

DJ Dean Paul Walton.

Friday 23 October 2020 19:00

Taylor Payne.

Sunday 18 October 18:00

The Understudies front man, Taylor Payne.

Saturday 17 October 2020 18:00

DJ Dean Paul Walton’s birthday party.

Friday 16 October 2020 20:00

Own Your Stage presents.

Sunday 11 October 2020 18:00

Tom Atkinson

Saturday 10 October 2020 19:00

DJ Dean Paul Walton.

Friday 9 October 2020 19:30

Ana Munoz duo.

Thursday 8 October 2020 18:00

Schooner Buskers’ night. All welcome.

Sunday 4 October 2020 18:00

Sophie Davis. Sophie played at the Schooner as part of an Own Your Stage presentation evening. She blew us away and we had to book her one the spot.

Sophie simply oozes natural talent; expect great covers and really impressive original material.

Oh, did we forget to mention, she’s just 14?

Saturday 3 October 2020 19:00

Sponge Divers front man, and king of our Buskers’ night, Mr Michael Rolf. Blues, funk, and everything else.

Friday 2 October 2020 19:00

The one and only Russ Tippins.

Sunday 27 September 2020 18:00

Tom Atkinson. Ridiculously talented Tom Atkinson returns to the Schooner for what is guaranteed to be a great night of fabulous music.

Saturday 26 September 2020 19:00

DJ Dean Paul Walton. Not ticketed.

Friday 25 September 2020 19:00

Ian Cockburn, Acoustic Outlaw.

Sunday 20 September 2020 18:00

Audios Acoustic. They played at one of our buskers’ nights and they were so good, we asked them to come back to do a full set. You really don’t want to miss this.

Saturday 19 September 2020 19:30

Own Your Stage presents: Erin, Leila, Sasha and Lily. Four great vocalists in one gig.

Four great young performers from the Own Your Stage team.

Friday 18 September 2020 19:00

Sponge Divers acoustic – we’ll have two Sponge Divers for a relaxed, quiet acoustic set.

No we won’t. We’ll have 60% of the Sponge Divers and they’re just not capable of quiet.
CANCELLED DUE TO LOCAL COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS

Sunday 13 September 18:00

The Nutopians, covering alternative pop rock songs from 80s, 90s, 0s and now.

Ticketed, all indoor seating is reserved for ticket holders. There’s plenty space outdoors, where you’ll still be able to hear the music.

Saturday 12 September 2020 19:00

DJ Dean Paul Wilson. This event isn’t ticketed, so seating’s strictly on a first come basis. Saying that, we’ll have some additional seating in the conservatory. We’ve also plenty space on the outdoor patio, where you can listen to Dean’s tunes outside.

Friday 11 September 2020 19:00

Ian Cockburn, Acoustic Outlaw returns to the Schooner for an evening of acoustic loveliness. Acoustic covers of classic and unexpected songs. A must see.

Thursday 10 September 2020 19:30

The Schooner’s buskers’ night. Come hear a great bunch of musicians play, or why not join in?

Sunday 6 September 2020 18:00

Acoustic Weller – easily the best all-round tribute to Paul Weller, with material from the Style Council and the Jam.

Ticketed

Saturday 5 September 2020 19:00

DJ Dean Paul Walton makes a return to the Schooner after last week’s amazing set. Expect a great, socially distanced, atmosphere and incredible sounds from every genre.

Indoors unless the British summer is kind. Entry on a first come basis; if you can’t get a seat, we’ve a beer garden.

Friday 4 September 2020 19:00

The Beardy Busker – you really need to see this guy.

Tuesday 1 September 2020 18:30

Own Your Stage – young musicians’ showcase. This is an independent event, using the Schooner as a venue. A chance to see some emerging young talent.

Monday 31 August 2020 18:00

The fabulous Beth Macari trio; Beth’s an amazing solo performer, so this gig will be triple the fun. Not to be missed.

Sunday 30 August 2020 18:00

TBC

Saturday 29 August 2020 19:00

The Revolutionaires acoustic. We’ve a cut-down acoustic Revolutionaires’ set, indoors.

Ticketed.

Friday 28 August 2020 18:00

Dean Paul Walton, the legendary Gotham Town DJ. Plus support. Expect to hear … well, everything.

Ticketed

Sunday 23 August 2020 17:45

In a change to our planned UK/DC gig, we have an acoustic set from Schooner regular Ian Cockburn.

Due to complaints about noise from residents across the Tyne, we’re seeking a professional sound assessment. This isn’t a quick process in these times, so we’ve taken the difficult decision to postpone the UK/DC gig.

Tickets for UK/DC will be valid for the future date when this is rearranged.

Meanwhile you’ve a chance to catch a lovely acoustic set from a very talented guy.

Saturday 22 August

Something different for the Schooner. We’ve an afternoon and evening of super cool music – disco, deep house and dance classics, with Liam and Fred.

Friday 21 August 2020 19:00

RussTippins makes a welcome return to the Schooner for an acoustic set. If you’ve seen Russ play before, you’ll know how good he is.

Sunday 16 August 17:45

Groovetrain. Funk and Soul at their best.

We may need to maintain additional distancing measures to comply with current legislation.

Ticketed

Saturday 15 August 19:00

Punk Pop Disaster, covering Green Day, Blink 182, Bowling For Soup, The Offspring, Jimmy Eat World, Sum 41, Tenacious D, Bloodhound Gang and lots more.

Ticketed

Friday 14 August 19:00

The Understudies’ front man, Taylor Payne, returns to the Schooner’s outdoor stage for an intimate acoustic set.

Acoustic gigs are pretty chilled, so these aren’t ticketed.

Thursday 13 August 19:00

St Patrick’s Day

Yes, St Patrick’s Day. We missed the celebrations in March due to the development of lockdown, so we want to make up for that.

More to come, but expect Guinness at £2.50, a guest stout, Irish stew and, of course, live traditional (-ish) Irish music from Father Jack’s Brick.

Sunday 9 August 17:45

We are Champion. A ridiculously good Queen tribute band. If you close your eyes, you’d think you were listening to the real thing.

Ticketed

Saturday 8 August 17:45

The Whodlums & Rigid Digits double bill.

We start the day with the Whodlums. All the hits from the Who, from early singles such as Substitute and My Generation, through to later hits such as Who Are You and You Better You Bet. Also, great songs from classic albums such as Tommy, Who’s Next and Quadrophenia.

Whodlums TICKETS

And then, we have Rigid Digits, truly the best SLF tribute band.

Rigid Digits TICKETS

Sunday 2 August 17:45

The Understudies. Probably the best cover band you’ll see.

Rock, Pop, Punk and Indie. Covers of classic songs.

Saturday 1 August 19:00

Breakfast Club, THE 80s cover band, performing hits from Duran Duran, A-ha, Frankie Goes To Hollywood, King, Depeche Mode, Simple Minds, Spandau Ballet, Ultravox and much more. TICKETS

Sunday 26 July 17:45

1977. Arguably the best all-round punk cover band in the North.

The Clash, Sex Pistols, The Damned, Buzzcocks, Slaughter & The Dogs, Generation X, The Jam, Chelsea, The Adverts, Joy Division, Stiff Little Fingers, The Boys, Sham 69, Dead Boys, 999 and more.

Saturday 25 July 19:00

The Kill, the premier Northeast rock band. Materiel from greats such as Van Halen, Foreigner, Journey, Bon Jovi, Whitesnake, Motley Crue, Skid Row, Warrant and more.

As with all Schooner gigs, social distancing must be observed.

Friday 24 July 19:00

Russ Tippins Acoustic. This man needs no introduction.

Sunday 19 July 17:30

The Revolutionaires.

Saturday 18 July 19:00

The Straits, easily the best Dire Straits tribute band around.

Friday 17 July 19:00

Acoustic Outlaw, Ian Cockburn will perform a chilled acoustic set on the outdoor stage. A pretty cool start to a weekend of live music in (outside) the Schooner.

Sunday 12 July

Live at six on the outdoor stage, Alcatraz House Band.

This will be epic.

Limited external seating is available. Social distancing rules must be followed.

Saturday 11 July

Live music returns to the Schooner. The fabulous Sponge Divers will be playing on our open air stage around seven.

Tables inside the pub and around the stage area are already booked, so there will be very limited seating. But, hey, who wants to sit down at a live gig anyway?

Social distancing must be observed.